Top Nurses, Student Nurse Set to Share Half Million Plus Prize Pool in 2023 LASCO/NAJ Nurse and Student Nurse of the Year Awards

The LASCO Chin Foundation, in collaboration with the Nurses Association of Jamaica (NAJ), is pleased to announce the finalists for the highly anticipated 2023 LASCO/NAJ Nurse and Student Nurse of the Year Awards.  The prestigious event, which recognizes and celebrates the outstanding achievements of Jamaican nurses, takes place on Friday, July 21, 2023, at 10:00 a.m. at the Jamaica Pegasus Hotel.

Under the 2023 theme Our Nurses, Our Future, the covetedNurse of the Year (NOY) Award will be bestowed upon a nurse who has demonstrated exceptional dedication, compassion, and innovation in their field.  The finalists for the 2023 Nurse of the Year Award are: Betty-Ann Campbell; Spanish Town Hospital; Renae Foster, Black River Hospital; Abigail James, Black River Hospital; Nadja Brown, Mandeville Regional Hospital; Roshelle Mendez, Mandeville Regional Hospital; Shantal Remekie, University Hospital of the West Indies and Inga Hunter-Martin, Hope Institute.

These remarkable health heroes continue to exhibit unwavering commitment and have made significant contributions to the healthcare sector.  Their dedication to the well-being of their patients, communities and wider society serves as an inspiration to all.

In addition to honouring the Nurse of the Year, the annual event will also recognize the remarkable achievements of student nurses.  The finalists for the 2023 Student Nurse of the Year (SNOY) award, who have shown exceptional promise and dedication, are: Bobbie-Ann Collins, Excelsior Community College School of Nursing; Derron Jackson, Excelsior Community College School of Nursing; Donica Chambers, KNOX Community College School of Nursing; Judith Thomas, KNOX Community College School of Nursing; Nikala Stewart, UWI School of Nursing, Mona; Shanice Burris, Brown's Town Community College School of Nursing and Nastasia Simms, Brown's Town Community College School of Nursing.

These talented individuals represent the future of nursing in Jamaica, and their commitment to excellence and compassion is a testament to the quality of nursing education in the country.

The LASCO/NAJ Nurse of the Year will be awarded a cash prize of $200,000, while the first runner-up will receive $150,000, the second runner-up will be presented with $100,000, and the Student Nurse of the Year will receive a well-deserved cash prize of $100,000.  Furthermore, all finalists will be recognized with additional prizes, and the winners will collectively receive over half a million dollars in cash prizes.

Ahead of the awards ceremony, the 14 finalists will engage in several activities including courtesy calls with senior public officials and a series of activities during Nurses Week. Supported by the NAJ, the finalists are expected to pay tribute to the late Founder and Chairman of the LASCO Chin Foundation the Honourable Lascelles Chin, OJ, OD, LLD (Hons Causa). 

In 2020, he declared, “LASCO is resolute in our support for our men and women who continue to commit their hearts and hands to the health of our nation. We are grateful for their devotion. We will continue to go the extra mile to consistently uplift and recognize their stewardship.”

The LASCO Chin Foundation and the Nurses Association of Jamaica have been steadfast in their commitment to recognizing and uplifting the nursing profession.  For over a decade, these organizations have dedicated their efforts to honoring the invaluable contribution of nurses to the healthcare sector in Jamaica.

The LASCO/NAJ Nurse and Student Nurse of the Year Awards have become a pinnacle of recognition for outstanding nurses in Jamaica.  It serves as a platform to celebrate the tireless efforts and selfless dedication of nurses who consistently go above and beyond to serve their fellow Jamaicans, particularly in the face of challenges such as the COVID-19 pandemic.

The LASCO Chin Foundation CEO Professor Rosalea Hamilton praised the nurses for their extraordinary fortitude and compassion.  She reiterated the importance of corporate Jamaica in recognizing and appreciating the vital role of nurses in society.

NAJ President, Patsy Edwards-Henry, expressed her gratitude for LASCO's continued support of Jamaican nurses and commended LASCO's understanding of the significant contributions made by nurses to the country's populace.

The Ministry of Health and Wellness, under the leadership of Dr.  The Honourable Christopher Tufton, has consistently emphasized the importance of nurses in providing quality healthcare.  Dr.  Tufton acknowledged the critical role nurses play in the delivery of public health services and pledged ongoing support to ensure their professional growth and development.

The 2022 -2023 Nurses Association of Jamaica (NAJ)/LASCO Nurse of the Year Winner Nurse Alicia Adamson, Nurses Manager at the Victoria Jubilee Hospital had an active reign. La-Daniel Campbell of Brown’s Town Community College School of Nursing received the NAJ/LASCO Student Nurse of the Year last year.

© Copyright - LASCO Distributors Ltd.  All rights reserved.
linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram